Photography trip 11th of August- 18th of August 2017
Are you passionate about photography? Are you interested in landscape, architecture, street photography or are you just curious to discover new and beautiful places and stories? Join us on an amazing photography trip and discover Romania. Spend seven days in one of the most unique places in the world. Discover the biggest city delta, ruins of ancient monasteries, traditions and festivals, nine hundred year old buildings such as castles, fortified churches and centuries-old houses in Europe’s best preserved medieval towns. Visit Sighioara, Braov, Sibiu, and a lot more! Dates and itinerary can be changed and customized according to your proposal.
Arrival in Bucharest. Vacaresti Delta at sunset. Also known as “the Delta of Bucharest”, Vacaresti lake is a strange, intriguing raw nature island between communist blocks of flats in a south of Bucharest, covering around 200 hectares, including some 80 hectares of water; a stable ecosystem consisting of fish, wild ducks, swans, lizards and gulls where during the summer nest over 90 species of wild birds. Dinner.
Xenofon Street – the only street in stairs in Bucharest and the area around Carol Park. The street has more than 100 steps that will take you to one of the highest points in Bucharest and offer a great view and the opportunity to photograph the architecture of the surrounding area.
Tineretului Park created in 1965 and designed as the main recreational space for southern Bucharest, the park offers green areas as well as a navigable lake, utilised by leisure boats in summer. Bellu Cemetery It is located on a plot of land donated to the local administration by Baron Barbu Bellu. It has been in use since 1858.
City Panorama from Sky Tower or City Gate South Tower (18 Lounge, City High Restaurant). Enjoy the stunning view of Bucharest from the top floor of the tallest building in the city.
Chiajna Monastery- is a ruined church situated on the outskirts of Bucharest, which is the subject of many legends, including the story that it is cursed. Construction of the neo classically styled church began during the reign of Alexander Ypsilanti (1774- 1782) and was completed by the Phanariot Nicholas Mavrogenes (1786-1790).
Departure to Sibiu – Through Poenari (a ruined castle in Romania, notable for its connection to Vlad III the Impaler. Access to the citadel is made by climbing the 1,480 concrete stairs.) and Transfagarasan (the second-highest paved road in Romania). We will also visit the Zistersinsen Ruins. Arrival in Sibiu.
Breakfast. The Small Square – The buildings in the Small Square date from the 14th to the 16th centuries and hosted craftsmen workshops that displayed their merchandise within these spaces. Visit to the Goldsmiths’ Square through the Tower of Stairs.
Liars Bridge – Liars Bridge offers the opportunity to photograph the Arts & Crafts House one of the oldest in Sibiu, first mentioned in documents from 1320 as well as The Tower of the Council.
Big Square – Photograph opportunity from beneath The Tower of the Council, visit to Haller House, The General’s House, the Blue house as well the inner courtyard of the Roman Catholic Church and the statue of saint Johannes von Nepomuk.
Ascension to the top of The Tower of the Council which offers a panorama of Sibiu. Pay attention to the “eyes of Sibiu”, small windows in the rooftops of houses. On the way to the top of the tower there is the possibility to photograph the mechanism of the tower clock. Lunch.
Holy Trinity Cathedral – built out of white bricks and inspired by Hagia Sofia.
Cariatides House - Two Cariatides statues guard the entrance to the house built in 1786. While not exact replicas of the original Cariatides at the Parthenon in Athens, the statues bear a close resemblance.
Franciscan Church, located on 12 – 14 Selarilor Street, the Franciscan Church was the setting for a scene from the movie Ghost Rider starring Nicholas Cage. Visit to the Ursulinelor Church.
The Citadel Street – walk along the Citadel Street (the most romantic street in Sibiu) while paying attention to the architecture, the coffee shops, The Carpenters’ Tower, The Potters’ Tower and the Gunsmiths Tower as well as Thalia Hall, a beautiful building constructed in 1787 by Martin Hochmeister the founder of the first bookshop in Romania. City Panorama at sunset from the terrace of Cafe Wien. Dinner.
Breakfast. Sighisoara clock tower above the gates to the medieval citadel. Panorama of the Medieval clock tower & gate of Sighisoara Saxon fortified medieval citadel.
The Citadel Square – This quaint small square lies at the heart of the citadel (pay attention to colorful old houses).
The Clock Tower (panorama – view of Sighisoara Saxon fortified medieval citadel from the clock tower) Sighisoara’s main point of attraction is the Clock Tower, built in the second half of the 14th century and expanded in the 16th century.
The Church of the Dominican Monastery – not far from the Clock Tower stands the Church of the Dominican Monastery. First attested in a document in 1298 as part of a Dominican monastic settlement, the church became the Saxons’ main Lutheran church in 1556.
The Church on the Hill and the cemetery (pay attention to the funeral monuments). To the north of the Clock Tower stands one of the most representative gothic-style structures in Transylvania, the Church on the Hill – so called because of its location on the School Hill (1,373 ft high). First mentioned in a document in 1345 and superposed on a former Roman basilica, its construction lasted almost 200 years. Lunch.
The Scholars’ Stairs – located at the end of School Street and connecting the Citadel Square with the Church on the Hill, the Scholars’ Stairs, makes for an interesting piece of medieval architecture. We will also go through one of the most interesting Saxon cemeteries in the region. Houses built in the medieval tower of the walls (pay attention to architectural details).
The Stag House – built in the 17th century in Transylvanian renaissance style, the house draws its name from the stag skull set on one of the corners of its facade. The Venetian House – Built in the 16th century, the house was later restored in Venetian Gothic style with the upper part of the windows forming a three-lobe arch.
Vlad Dracula’s House – located in the Citadel Square this ocher-colored house is the place where Vlad Tepes (the inspiration for Bram Stoker’s famous Dracula) was born.
Defensive towers (pay attention to the corners and the views from each one of them, you will see different parts of the city) – The half-mile defense wall was initially provided with 14 towers, of which nine have been preserved to this day. Among the most impressive are: The Ropemakers’ Tower (one of the oldest buildings in Sighisoara), The Goldsmiths’ Tower, The Tailors’ Tower, The Cobblers’ Tower. Dinner.Walk at night through the city, pay attention to the shadows, at night the city is covered in penumbra.
Sighisoara – Agnita – Merghindeal – Cincu – Cincsor. Agnita, mentioned for the first time in a document from 1280, is a town with traditional crafts, famous for the old guilds of tanners, shoemakers, tailors, coopers and potters, with semi-rural economy. Here you can find one of the oldest peasant fortification in Transylvania. Merghindeal is a commune located in Sibiu County, Romania. It is composed of two villages, Dealu Frumos and Merghindeal church.
Cincu. The settlement was first mentioned as Chenk in 1328. Its enormous XIII century gothic church, on a hill, dominates the area and is one of the largest fortified churches in Transylvania. Its 29 meter high tower didn’t serve defense purposes. There are 3 bells in it, among which, on the oldest one the date 1512 is inscription, as the registration date of the bell’s first casting. All three bells were recasted for in 1789, after the great fire. In 1493, as a result of the Turkish invasion, the church was seriously damaged, it was rebuilt in the XVI century. In 1693 the tower suffered a thunder stroke, and in 1789 the fire came, which ruined the church again. The present form of the three nave church was reached after many restorations. It is composed of two villages, Dealu Frumos and Merghindeal. Each of these has a fortified Cincsor. The Evangelical Church of Cincsor is located in Cincsor, Brasov. The settlement from the XIV century was formed in the vicinity of a Roman castle. Its Gothic style church was built in 1421, to the place of a XIII century church. Its double wall, with stones form a Roman castrum, was raised in the XV century. There are four towers along the walls. For defense a floor was also made above the loft, supported by wooden frame. In time of distress the fortress was a safe refuge, but the tower was also used for storing bacon, and cereals were stored in baskets hanging on the walls.
Cincu – Fagaras – Poiana Marului – Dracula Castle – Poiana Brasov – Brasov. We will arrive in Fagaras where we will meet our “cooking teacher”, Daniela, an important personality in this area.
She will reveal to us important traditions and cooking recipes:
• Supa de galuste – soup with senolina dumplings;
• Typical Romanian lamb soup;
• Mamaliga cu Sarmale – the most famous Romanian dish, pickled cabbage rolls with minced meat and polenta;
• Papanasi – another typical Romanin cake – a kind of donuts with cheese and cream and comfiture;
Bran Castle (Dracula’s Castle),this fortified Castle, designed in the Gothic style (14th century) and located on the top of a rock in the pass between the Bucegi and Piatra Craiului Mountains was used during the middle Ages as a defense against the Ottomans raids. It also served as a customs station. Its walls, made of river boulders, were erected by the people of Brasov. It has an irregular trapezoidal shape and four levels and a majestic staircase. A massive dungeon dominates its northern side with 4 towers oriented towards the four cardinal points. The castle once belonged to the Wallachia ruling prince Mircea the Old. The Museum within the castle exhibits Romanian and foreign furniture and art object from the 14th-19th centuries. At the famous Dracula’s Castle from Bran lots of tourists hope to see even for a second, the shadow of the feared vampire. Poiana Brasov
Breakfast. Nicolae Titulescu Park. A brief walk through the largest park in the city. The Brasov Aqueduct (C. Kertsch Aqueduct) was erected on the Tâmpa ridge, under the direction of engineer Christian Kertsch. Water was carried through ceramic pipes over a great distance, from springs on the other side of Tâmpa.
The Weavers’ Bastion is nowadays a museum. It is the largest Medieval bastion in Brasov and the best preserved among the seven initial watchtowers built around the city walls. It was first built during 1421- 1436 and rebuilt in 1570-1573.
The Alleyway Beneath Tampa was built on the site of a former channel of defense and is guarded by The Drapers Bastion. From here we take the Tampa Cable Car that offers stunning, panoramic views of the city from the top of Mount Tâmpa. Lunch. A walk along Castle Street with the opportunity to photograph the Synagogue built in 1870.
Schei Gate built in between 1827 and 1828 in order to
let through heightened traffic. The stone and brick gate built in classical style like a triumphal arch has three openings: the middle arch, shaped for traffic, is larger, and on its both sides there are two smaller and lower openings for pedestrians.
Catherine’s Gate built by the Tailors’ Guild, in 1559 for defensive purposes and named after St. Catherine’s Monastery that was situated here in former times. It is the only original city gate to have survived from medieval times.
Rope Street is the narrowest street in the city of Brasov.
It is believed to be one of the narrowest streets in Europe. It was initially built as a corridor that firemen could use, and it is first mentioned in 17th century documents. Its width varies between 111 and 135 centimeters, and it is 80 meters long.
Black Church – The Cathedral was built by the German community of the city and stands as the main Gothic style monument in the country, as well as being the largest and one of the most important Lutheran places of worship in the region.
The Black Tower is located on a large rock on Warthe Hill, the role of the Black Tower was to deny enemy soldiers to approach the city walls. The Tower offers a great view and the opportunity to take a panorama of the Black Church. Brasov Council Square obtained its right to hold markets in 1520, but it has been the place for annual markets since 1364. The semicircular White Tower finished in 1494, like the Black Tower. The tower is located high up the hill and you’ll have to climb some 200 steps to reach it. City Panorama at sunset, after dark from belvedere point. Dinner.
Departure home. Transfer to the airport.
• Price in double room: 1990 €
• Single supplement: 400 €
• Services included: professional photographer, 4* and 5* hotels, half-board, entrance fee to museums, evening photo review session with drinks.
• Minibus with A/C
• English-speaking guide
1. This program can be changed upon request.
2. For further information, please, contact: Cultural Romtour, email@example.com
- Pleases your eyes