Ieud has two distinctive churches. “The Church on the Hill” was built in 1365 and “The Church on the Plain” was built in 1699. Both were built in the Maramuresan style from pine. These old wooden churches contain paintings on the interior walls as well as glass icons. Ieud has the oldest of all the churches in Maramures and one of the most beautiful. The new church was built after the last Tartar invasion of the region. The paintings (from 1782), show scenes with Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob welcoming people in their arms. The Orthodox Church on the Hill was made from fir wood, with a double roof and tiny windows.
The wooden churches of Ieud served as the repository for some of Romania’s most important historical documents. “Codicele de la Ieud” (the old manuscripts from Ieud) dates back to 1391. Other religious and historical documents include a breviary written at Targoviste in 1715, a missal written in Iasi in 1759 and a book of prayers written in Bucharest in 1743. It has the best known paintings of any Maramures church, executed by Alexandru Ponehalski in 1782
The part of the village around the higher church it may be most representative example of the authentic Maramures village.1391 was a reference year for the history of the Romanian culture, being the date of the first text written in the Romanian language -“Codicele de la Ieud” (a manuscript containing old texts).
Buna Vestire Wooden Church – the oldest code of law in Romania written in the Cyrillis alphabet. Ieud is known for the preservation of its traditional customs as well as its traditional architecture. The people here dress and act the same as they did hundreds of years ago. Every year in July the people of Ieud celebrate with aIn the forests that covered the hills along Moldovita Valley as well as Cimirna rivulet, had lived since the 14th century many hermits. They arose a small wooden church, and around it raised hermitages and set up a new monarchal collectivity. The original 14th century church stood 500m east of the present one, this church was founded and fortified by Petru Rares in 1532.
The church of the Moldovita Monastery ( Suceava County), a religious settlement founded in 1532 is dedicated to Buna Vestire (the Annunciation), and has its Patronal Feast on the 25th of May. Like Sucevita, it has the aspect of a fortress, with imposing towers and high, thick walls (6m high, 1.2m wide). According to the architectural tradition set by Stephen the Great, the church has a three-cusped plan, as well an open porch. The masters who painted its interior and exterior walls have decorated them with scenes from 16th century Moldavian life.
The frescoes are due to Toma of Suceava, and were painted in 1537, when Petru Rares had not yet given up his fight against the Sultan, the dominant colours are the reds and an iridiscent green: the colour may have been made from locally-mined copper. The most interesting painting is the “Siege of Constantinopol” on the south façade, a monumental composition, similar to that of Humor Monastery, and relating to the Moldavians’ fights against foreign invasions, especially the Turks. The panoramic view of the citadel of Constantinople is impressive by its many towers, and it is enlivened by the crowds of people swarming around. Petru Rares and his wofe are shown here too, standing nex to a model of the church. The open exonarthex here protects what remains of a superb Last Judgement. It also contains murals of military saints St George with Sts Demetrius and Mercurios below him, all on springly horses, with a painting of the Emperor Constantine at the Council of Nicaea.
The specific elements of the construction are: the unusual solution of enlarging the nave including other two rooms; the windows of the pronaos symmetrically disposed; the doors with frames in Gothic style under the proeminent cornices and the artistic iconography. “The Annunciation” church of Moldovita Monastery is considered by many mural painting experts as “one of the most important monuments of medieval Romanian art”. Of a high artistic value is the altar screen made of wood-carved with gilt stucco. The glint of gold, the vegetable motifs with birds, and the Imperial Icon give the Holy Altar a very pious appearance.
“Clisiarnita” is the house of Voivode and his family or the house of high guests. It is a monumental construction placed on the North-West side, where the worship objects and sacerdotal attores are kept. Vessels votive lights, emboidery pieces and manuscripts, icons stood here for hundreds of years. In our days the most precious “worship object” is “The Golden Apple” – the distiction offered by “The International Association of Journalists and Writers for Tourism” for the high artistic value of these medieval art monuments from this side of the country. festival of traditional culture called “Ieud Cultural Day”.