Ieud has two distinctive churches. “The Church on the Hill” was built in 1365 and “The Church on the Plain” was built in 1699. Both were built in the Maramuresan style from pine. These old wooden churches contain paintings on the interior walls as well as glass icons. Ieud has the oldest of all the churches in Maramures and one of the most beautiful. The new church was built after the last Tartar invasion of the region. The paintings (from 1782), show scenes with Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob welcoming people in their arms. The Orthodox Church on the Hill was made from fir wood, with a double roof and tiny windows.
The wooden churches of Ieud served as the repository for some of Romania’s most important historical documents. “Codicele de la Ieud” (the old manuscripts from Ieud) dates back to 1391. Other religious and historical documents include a breviary written at Targoviste in 1715, a missal written in Iasi in 1759 and a book of prayers written in Bucharest in 1743.
It has the best known paintings of any Maramures church, executed by Alexandru Ponehalski in 1782. The part of the village around the higher church it may be most representative example of the authentic Maramures village.1391 was a reference year for the history of the Romanian culture, being the date of the first text written in the Romanian language -“Codicele de la Ieud” (a manuscript containing old texts).
Buna Vestire Wooden Church – the oldest code of law in Romania written in the Cyrillis alphabet. Ieud is known for the preservation of its traditional customs as well as its traditional architecture. The people here dress and act the same as they did hundreds of years ago. Every year in July the people of Ieud celebrate with a festival of traditional culture called “Ieud Cultural Day”.